Magnolia House – PAULINE BARCLAY

Magnolia House is written by Pauline Barclay.

Jane Leonard is a seventy year old Lady who has suddenly found herself living alone in Magnolia House. Just 12 months previous she shared the house with her beloved Son and his family.

So much can happen in just 12 month. Jane never imagined that she would have to sell the house that holds so many precious  and sometime very painful memories spanning five decades. With huge reluctance Magnolia is put on the Market. Love and betrayal, hopes and dreams and ultimately family loyalty will affect the lives of all of those who become involved.

Can Jane actually let go of Magnolia House and move on? Will new friendships actual help heal old wounds? One lady’s actions can change the lives of many around her.

What Pauline has written here is an amazing emotional story wrapped in so much sorrow but with the faintest hint of hope as you turn each page. The book starts with a group of people who are interwoven into the story but with no connection to the house.

I have read a number of books this year that have moved me, but non so much as this one. This really is a gorgeous story that made me have tears streaming down more often than not. I loved the way you get to understand why Jane is like she is, the way she relates and reacts to people who come around her. This book gives me hope!

This is the 3rd book of Pauline’s I have read and with each of them there is a real beautiful feel to them. Pauline really knows how to hold the reader’s attention and be desperate to know what happens next with her writing. I’m an a big fan of Pauline’s work. (Adore the new cover too!) It’s also really important for me to point out that this is a self published book and to me just shows the fantastic talent that these books can have. Never ever dismiss a self published Author, in my opinion, I have found that they are as good and in some cases better than those published by a big Publishing house.

Wonderful story Pauline, thank you x

You can follow Pauline on twitter @PaulineMBarclay or find out more information via her website http://www.paulinebarclay.co.uk/ . Pauline is also an Author with the group www.loveahappyending.com
.

12 Comments

Filed under Book review

12 responses to “Magnolia House – PAULINE BARCLAY

  1. What a lovely review Lou. It sounds like my type of book – on my wishlist now! x

  2. Definitely going onto my TBR list!

  3. Beautiful review, Lou. I look forward to reading more of your reviews (as well as Pauline’s books…lol).

  4. Wow, what a lovely review; I have definitely got to read it now. I knew there was something very interesting going on in that house down there!

  5. Fab review, Lou–I get a real feeling for the book and have put it on my wishlist. Thanks as always for taking the time to really get into the story and do it justice. And Pauline, sounds like you’ve done an amazing job at bringing emotion to the page, which is incredibly hard. Well done you! Can’t wait to read it…
    X Nicky

  6. Hello Lou, thank you so much for this beautiful review, as before you have made me cry. So pleased you enjoyed meeting Mrs Leonard and I bet, the term sunnier climes will never be the same again…laugh! Big hugs xxxx

    Hi Sharon, thank you for adding Magnolia House to your wish list. You are very kind. x

    Hello Melanie, you too are going to add MH to your reading list….thank you so much. x

    Hi Susan, thank you for reading Lou’s review on MH, she is an amazing lady. Hugs to you xx

  7. Hello Sue, you are so right there is somehting going on in that lovely house, but what? I won’t let the cat out of the bag, but suffice to say, you will need tissues. I wrote the book and I needed them too… laugh! Thank you. x

    Hi Nicky, thank you for stopping by and reading Lou’s lovely review on MH. It is a tear jerker and I hope you will enjoy the read too. Thank you. xx

  8. Looking forward to reading this! You have expressed your passion about this story so well, Lou; it is infectious! Fabulous review Pauline.

  9. Hello Niamh thank you so much for reading Lou’s review on my Magnolia House. Like you say she has written a infectious and fabulous review. I am honoured and humbled.

  10. Loved it when I read it with the ‘old’ cover….. but the new cover is simply beautiful and Pauline must be thrilled with the result! Lovely review Louise, written from the heart! You are growing by the second and your blog has quickly become a great place to visit.

  11. Thank you all for the lovely comments for my review. Hope you all enjoy it as much as I did when you read it xx

  12. What a lovely review! I happen to know that Pauline has worked so very hard on updating and re-editing her two earlier books (this one and Satchfielld Hall – coming soon) She is a passionate and dedicated writer and deserves to do well.

    Good luck to you Pauline!

Please leave a Reply