Louise loved ….. Billy and Me – GIOVANNA FLETCHER

billyBilly and Me is the debut novel written by Giovanna Fletcher and published by Penguin Books.

Sophie May has a secret.

One that she’s successfully kept for years. It’s meant that she’s had to
give up her dreams of going to university and travelling the world to stay
in her little village, living with her mum and working in the local teashop.

But then she meets the gorgeous Billy – an actor with ambitions to make
it to the top. And when they fall in love, Sophie is whisked away from the
comfort of her life into Billy’s glamorous – but ruthless – world.

Their relationship throws Sophie right into the spotlight after years of
shying away from attention. Can she handle the constant scrutiny that
comes with being with Billy? And most of all, is she ready for her secret
heartbreak to be discovered and shared with the nation?

Well, what a flipping good read this was! Totally unexpected as I knew nothing about the author and therefore no preconceptions of what to expect. The story on the back cover looked light and very chick lit, so with a cuppa and a chocolate biscuit in hand, I sat down to start the book. Two hours later and a cold cuppa, I was nearly half way through. That to me a measure of a great book!

I just love Sophie the lead from the first page. She is just like us, real! I also have to make a special mention to Molly, the tea shop owner, everyone should have a Molly in their lives!

Emotional, funny and thought-provoking in places, it isn’t just a light breezy novel but it certainly flows very well and helps you get lost into the pages very easily.

I definitely will be looking out for future novels by this lady. I am giving this my highest award of Louise loved …..!

Available via amazon UK

Billy and Me

2 Comments

Filed under Book review, Louise Loved ...

2 responses to “Louise loved ….. Billy and Me – GIOVANNA FLETCHER

  1. Interesting reading your review Lou. Been having a discussion on my GR. Glad you enjoyed Billy and Me. Didn’t work for me! I thought the romance was missing, couldn’t connect with Sophie or Billy but loved Molly and Paul! To me they were the real characters. Great to read people’s personal opinions in their reviews. x

  2. You sent me off to ‘look inside’. My fingers is hovering. Yep, I’m going to buy me this one. Thanks for sharing your excellent review, Lou! 🙂 xx

Please leave a Reply

