Indiscretion – CHARLES DUBOW

 indes                                                        

Indiscretion is the debut novel by Charles Dubow and published by Blue Door (Harper Collins Publishers)

Harry and Madeleine Winslow are blessed with talent, money, and charm. Harry is an award–winning author on the cusp of greatness. Madeleine is a woman of sublime beauty and grace whose elemental goodness belies a privileged upbringing. Bonded by deep devotion, their marriage is both envied and admired by friends who spend summers at their East Hampton idyll.

When a holiday fling turns disastrously wrong, 26-year-old Claire falls into the Winslows’ welcoming orbit. They are enchanted by her youth and intelligence. In turn, Claire is entranced by Harry and Maddy. The love that exists between them is something of which, until now, she could only dream.

Seen through the omniscient eyes of Maddy’s childhood friend Walter, a narrator akin to Nick Carraway in The Great Gatsby, Indiscretion is a story about the complexities of love, the dangerous nature of desire and how obsession can tear apart even the most perfect of worlds.

 When I was sent this book through, I really like the sound of the wording on the back of it and what interested me more was that it was written by a man and I felt this would be a very different point of view from the books I have read of the same subject matter before by women.
 
I think you will know within the first couple of chapters if this book is for you. It follows four people, Harry, Madeleine, Claire and Walter. What is slightly different about this book is that is written in a narrated type style by Walter. I wondered if I would find this a bit strange at first, but the book is so well written and gripping that I was hooked straight away.
 
Whilst I am sure you are not meant to love all four leads, I have to admit I did for all different reasons. I was so captivated in their lives that I read this cover to cover in a day. Full of emotion and an ended that I felt was totally perfect. It was a real pleasure to read Charles Dubow’s debut novel and I certainly would read further work by him.
 
Available via amazon UK Indiscretion
 
Leave a comment

Filed under Book review

Please leave a Reply

