Meet me Under the Mistletoe – ABBY CLEMENTS

meetMeet me Under the Mistletoe is written by Abby Clements and published by Quercus.

Childhood friends Laurie and Rachel’s lives have taken very different paths since they picked up their A-level results together. Laurie is living in London and dedicated to her career, keeping track of her friends on Facebook. Rachel is seemingly living the family idyll in a cottage in Yorkshire,

When Rachel’s mother in law falls ill and needs treatment in London, and Laurie decides she needs to get away for a break, a house swap falls into place. Soon Rachel is braving the mean streets of London while trying to keep her family together, while Laurie tries to figure out how to work an Aga and befriend the locals – and forget the man who seems intent on breaking her heart.

Will their relationships survive this test? And will they make it home in time for Christmas?

I picked this off my shelf on Saturday morning looking to try to get into the festive spirit. I wanted something light and easy to read, something toeasily escape into. What I expected was lots of references to mulled wine, snow and mince pies. What I actually got was a wonderful easy to read story that was set over the run up to Christmas that follows the troubled lives of two ladies who used to be old school friends.

I was worried when I started the book that it would be too similar to the film The Holiday with Cameron Diaz and Kate Winslet but apart from the house swap this book is its own story and a totally engaging one at that.

Both Laurie and Rachel are both really likeable characters, they couldn’t be different on the surface, but if you dig deep (as with anyone I believe) all they really wanted was to have their family safe and well and someone to love…. Basic human needs.

I really enjoyed this book and read it within two days. I looked forward to waking up Sunday morning to finish it and that to me is all I can ask for in a book. And who wouldn’t want a neighbours like Diana and Lily!

Available from Amazon UK

Meet me under the Mistletoe

1 Comment

Filed under Book review

One response to “Meet me Under the Mistletoe – ABBY CLEMENTS

  1. I’m so glad I read this as I’ve been “humming and ha-ing” about whether I would like it or not. Sounds like I would so I’ll now go and buy it! Thanks Lou x

Please leave a Reply

