Only Time Will Tell – JEFFERY ARCHER

Only Time Will Tell is the first in The Clifton Chronicles Trilogy  only
and Published by Pan Books.  

The epic tale of Harry Clifton’s life begins in 1920, with the words “I was told that my father was killed in the war.” A dock worker in Bristol, Harry never knew his father and expects to continue on at the shipyard, until a remarkable gift wins him a scholarship to an exclusive boys’ school, and his life will never be the same again…

As Harry enters into adulthood, he finally learns how his father really died, but the awful truth only leads him to question: Was he even his father? Is he the son of Arthur Clifton, a stevedore, or the firstborn son of a scion of West Country society, whose family owns a shipping line? From the ravages of the Great War and the docks of working-class England to the streets of 1940 New York City and the outbreak of the Second World War, this is a powerful journey that will bring to life one hundred years of history to reveal a family story that neither the reader nor Harry Clifton himself could ever have imagined.

Let me tell you a secret, I am a huge fan of Jeffery Archer’s book and I don’t think there are any that I have not read. Some of his earlier books like Kane & Abel and As The Crow Flies still stick in my mind and are in my top reads of all time. So when I read that there was a new trilogy out, I was very excited as you can imagine.

This first books follows the early lives of Harry Clifton and his two friends Giles Barrington and Deakins where they meet at boarding school. The interconnection of the families are something these young boys have no understanding too. They don’t understand the prejudice that follows their pasts but sadly are pulled into things they don’t understand.

Again Jeffery was brilliantly written another book that hooks you straight away. He has a knack of making his characters so complex with so many twists you just can’t help wanting to read more. Is it one of my favourites by him, currently not, however, I still have two more books in the series to read and I wouldn’t be surprised if when all combined I am as thrilled with them as I have been with his others.

If you have never tried a Jeffery Archer book, I urge you to do so… you won’t be disappointed if you have the same tastes as me.

Available via amazon as a ebook or paperback Only time will tell

3 Comments

Filed under Book review

3 responses to “Only Time Will Tell – JEFFERY ARCHER

  1. Thanks, Louise! I wasn’t aware of this book and it does sound like another winner!

  2. I’m looking into how to do this.. Unfortunately I don’t know and am asking on FB and twitter for help! If you log onto my blog there is normally a follow/unfollow option at the top left. Apologies if you have already tried that.

Please leave a Reply

