The Elephant Girl – HENRIETTE GYLAND

elephantThe Elephant Girl is written by Henriette Gyland and published by Choc Lit.

Peek-a-boo I see you…
When five-year-old Helen Stephens witnesses her mother’s murder, her whole world comes crumbling down. Rejected by her extended family, Helen is handed over to child services and learns to trust no-one but herself. Twenty years later, her mother’s killer is let out of jail, and Helen swears vengeance.

Jason Moody runs a halfway house, desperate to distance himself from his father’s gangster dealings. But when Helen shows up on his doorstep, he decides to dig into her past, and risks upsetting some very dangerous people.

As Helen begins to question what really happened to her mother, Jason is determined to protect her. But Helen is getting too close to someone who’ll stop at nothing to keep the truth hidden.

I always look forward to a Choc Lit book as I know that I most likely to enjoy it. Each of their Authors have different styles of writing but all very engaging. This was the first book I have read by this Author so had nothing to prepare me for what style of writing or what the story would be like. I have to say that I throughly enjoyed the Elephant Girl. Extremely well written and flowed beautiful. I loved the ‘Who dun’it’ type feel to the novel whilst still be a very easy story to read.

Loads of twists along the way, happiness, sadness and some puzzling Russians! The whole concept of the book kept me reading right to the last page. Helen, the lead in this book, is a very complex character and so much has happened in her life that you jus are so drawn to her and feel the struggles that she goes through.

A gorgeous cover and a fab read, one I would recommend.

Available via Amazon UK The Elephant Girl

2 Comments

Filed under Book review

2 responses to “The Elephant Girl – HENRIETTE GYLAND

  1. Many thanks for this fabulous review! I’m truly delighted that you enjoyed my book.
    Henriette

  2. Love the sound of this, Henriette. An excellent review. Well done you! Thanks for sharing, Lou! 🙂 xx

Please leave a Reply

