Bridget Jones Mad About The Boy – HELEN FIELDING

bridget    Bridget Jones – Mad About the Boy is the their book in the series, written by Helen Fielding and published by Jonathan Cape.

What do you do when a girlfriend’s 60th birthday party is the same day as your boyfriend’s 30th?

Is it wrong
to lie about your age when online dating?

Is it morally wrong to have a blow-dry when one of your children has head lice?

Does the Dalai Lama
actually tweet or is it his assistant?

Is technology
now the fifth element? Or is that wood?

So …. like many I heard what the ‘spoiler’ in this book before I read it. I also feel I should point out that I haven’t actually read the other two books in the series, I’ve just watched the films and totally loved them. There are so many similarities in my life to Bridget’s that I was so excited to hear that there was a new book….

So we meet Bridget now in her 50’s with a couple of little Darcy’s to look after. As with all Bridget stories, life isn’t going to plan, dieting is a struggle and to top it all, she has found twitter!

I don’t want to spoil anything for anyone especially as you may not have heard the spoilers … but I can’t help thinking that the thing that is mentioned straight away only happened to enabled the writer to have another typical Bridget style book. There is so much that I feel could have been written about without it happening. I am a realist and have not got my head stuck in cloud cuckoo land and know that none of the characters are real … but!

This book didn’t do anything for me. I was irritated with the constant twitter references, which considering I am hooked on it myself I know is just a little hypocritical, but is that what we can now expect from books, twitter talk dominating the story? Also, a number of my favourite characters seemed shoehorned into the book, just so they appeared.

I was hoping to laugh as Bridget, to feel for her and to wish loads of happiness but I just couldn’t warm to her… I am certain there will be a huge following of this latest installment and praise etc, just sadly for me it was one book to many. Thank goodness we all have different tastes as I’m certain it will be a great success….

4 Comments

Filed under Book review

4 responses to “Bridget Jones Mad About The Boy – HELEN FIELDING

  1. mesetageresenfranglais

    Read Bridget years ago. Although I prefered in fact the movie. Sounds maybe strange but this is so. I read it when I knew already that R.Zelleweger would play Bridget and in reading it, couldn’t put another face on her. This one I saw in the One shaw the author talking about this book and I’m not sure if I want to read it.

  2. Oh Lou, thank you for your candid review. It’s really refreshing to hear your thoughts on BJ3. I have to confess two things here. One, I really am looking forward to reading it, as I’m a huge BJ fan. Two, I am a little nervous. I’m just not sure how I’ll feel about at a 51-year old BJ who’s still as ditzy as ever and now let loose on Twitterland too. It just… I don’t know. I’m not sure it appeals, and your review seems to point in that direction too. That notwithstanding, I shall look forward to picking up my copy and seeing for myself. Thank you, meanwhile, for your perspective. Rock on! XX

  3. Amanda Nason

    Lovely review. I feel like I daren’t read the book in case I don’t like it. Sort of spoils my memories of Bridget – if you know what I mean? x

Please leave a Reply

