Hiya! – Stephanie Keyes – The Star Child

I’m delighted to say that I am sitting here today with Author Stephane Keyes and discussing her fabulous new debut novel The Star Child.

 

The Eighties Connection and The Star Child

Hello Lou and let me just say that I am so thrilled to be a guest on your wonderful blog. I’ve really enjoyed your posts!

I noticed that there were quite a few 80s references in The Star Child. Are you a child of the Eighties?
SK: Absolutely. I had a spiral perm, converse hi-tops, and watched MTV just like everyone else on my block. I also had leg warmers and leggings, although I would not feel comfortable donning them again as part of the recent resurrection of clothing from that era!

Kellen isn’t a child of the eighties, yet he is very into that time period. He makes quite a few comments about pop culture from that time frame. Why did you include that quirk in his personality?
SK: Ironically, it’s one that I share. I grew up listening to a lot of Jazz and Swing that my Grandmother played. When I was young I used to have nightmares and would be up in the middle of the night. I always knew that if I turned on a movie, and that type of music was playing, that it would be a safe, happy topic, and that I would probably forget the bad dream. Kellen had a very traumatic time as a child, so I knew that he would have the same characteristic. For Kellen, that was too much of a generational gap, so I chose the eighties, which I love.

Also, Kellen is a very old soul. He’s a romantic character that has never seemed to act his age. So it makes sense that he would be into things from another time.

What’s Kellen’s favorite band from the 80s?
SK: Everybody’s Mother.

Who are they? I’ve never heard of them before.
SK:Everybody’s Mother is a fictional punk bank that I incorporated into the story. I used to perform with a number of Jazz bands, singing and playing the saxophone, when I was younger. A friend of mine at the time joked that a great name for a band would be Everybody’s Mother. I had to include it. I keep checking every few years or so on Google to see if someone took that name, but they hadn’t the last time that I checked.

So your audience is Young Adults… Will the references be lost on your audience?
SK: Maybe, maybe not. The Young Adult audience is very bright, much sharper than I felt at their age. So I imagine they will be on their smartphones looking up anything that doesn’t immediately make sense. Plus, there are reruns of so many of these programs on television today, so many will have had some exposure – even if it’s just on advertisements.

Plus, I’m hoping that it will expose the audience to new music, new programming… Just like I listen to the Beatles and Clapton – they didn’t come out in my era but I became a fan.

 

ENTER TO WIN

Answer the three questions below correctly using the comments section below and you could win a B&N Gift Card! Only comments posted on December 20th are eligible.

  1. What was the name of the action television series that revolved around a secret agent whose main asset was his scientific knowledge and creative application of common household items?
  2. What actor played the starring role in the eighties television series Knight Rider?
  3. What album by the band The Police, did Demolition Man originally appear on before is was released as the title track for the movie?

(open to all and Stephanie will select the winner)

The Star Child is available on;

Amazon Kindle US http://www.amazon.com/dp/B006GADZ1Y
UK
http://www.amazon.co.uk/The-Star-Child-ebook/dp/B006GADZ1Y/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1322888380&sr=8-1

Barnes and Noble
Nook http://www.barnesandnoble.com/c/stephanie-keyes
Paperback
http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/the-star-child-stephanie-keyes/1037031019ean=9780615566290&itm=2&usri=stephanie+keyes

About the author:

When Stephanie isn’t writing, she works full time as a Corporate Educator and Curriculum Designer. She holds a M.Ed. from Duquesne University and an undergraduate degree in Management information Systems from Robert Morris University. Stephanie is a clarinetist, saxophonist, and vocalist, and is always making music somewhere at sometime. She credits her loving husband of ten years and her two sons for the completion and publication of the Star Child.

Find out more about Stephanie at http://www.stephaniekeyes.com.
Friend her on Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/pages/Stephanie-Keyes/150860604966160
Follower her On Twitter: http://bit.ly/jjneXg

3 Comments

Filed under Hiya! Meet the Characters (Blog Tour)

3 responses to “Hiya! – Stephanie Keyes – The Star Child

  1. Stephanie K

    Thanks Lou for hosting me today! I was teaching all day today so am a bit late in checking in, but many thanks!

  2. Hi Louise!
    Thank you again for hosting me. I lost my PC yesterday so I could not post! However I very much appreciate the spot on your site! For those who wanted to participate in the 80s competition but didn’t get the chance, even though the tour has moved on. Just respond to the comments section on this post with the answers. Thanks very much again Lou!

  3. Stephanie Keyes

    The contest has now closed. Thanks to all of you who participated!

Please leave a Reply

