Book of the Month – October – CAROL WYER

Why did I pick these as my books of the month?

I spent a while last month thinking of what to have as my book of the month in October and I decided that I wanted to support an Author that has written a couple of books that I read earlier this year and both made me laugh and were just great reads!

This is the first time that I have featured two books at once, but they are both brilliant and I just had to brings them to your attention! Read them both, you won’t be disappoint!!

Synopsis for Mini skirts and Laughter Lines

Amanda Wilson can’t decide between murder, insanity and another glass of red wine. Facing 50 and all that it entails is problematic enough. What’s the point in minking your eyes, when your husband would rather watch ‘Russia Today’ than admire you, strutting in front of the television in only thigh boots and a thong?

Her son has managed to perform yet another magical disappearing act. Could he actually be buried under the mountain of festering washing which is strewn on his bedroom floor? He’ll certainly be buried somewhere when she next gets her hands on him.

At least her mother knows how to enjoy herself. She’s partying her twilight years away in Cyprus. Queen of the Twister mat, she now has a toy boy in tow.

She really shouldn’t have pressed that send button. The past always catches up with you sooner or later. Still, her colourful past is a welcome relief to her monochrome present; especially when it comes in the shape of provocative Todd Bradshaw, her first true love.

Soon Mandy has a difficult decision to make; one that will require more than a few glasses of Chianti.

Review

What a fantastic, addictive novel Carol has brilliantly written. I sat down on Sunday morning to read this and never left the sofa until Sunday evening as I closed the book! The book is set in a diary (or should I say as we are now in the 21st century) blog format with an entry most days. What is fantastic about it, is that Carol has also captured additional characters that are Amanda’s blog followers that leave little comments at the end of each blog! They in themselves have little stories but you will see what I mean when you read the book!

This book is very funny indeed in places. Amanda is a 50 something married lady to a man approaching 60 (but could easily be 80 due to being so boring!), a mother (and what a great character she is!!!) who spends more time in Cyprus getting up to goodness knows what and at her age! Throw in a 21-year-old son that thinks their family home is a hotel and you suddenly know Amanda has a lot to write (or moan) about!

A wonderfully different way of writing a book. You really get to know Amanda and travel with her on her highs, lows and mid menopausal panics in life!

Synopsis for Surfing in Stilettos

Surfing in Stilettos is the second book by Carol E Wyer following on the success of Mini Skirts and Laughter Lines.

Amanda Wilson is all geared up for an exciting gap year, travelling across Europe with her husband, Phil, hoping that it will cheer him up and put a little romance back into their lives. Fate, however, intervenes to turn Amanda’s life on its head. First, Bertie, the campervan, breaks down. Then, the trip is doing nothing to change the grumpy disposition of her husband. In fact he seems to be getting worse. Finally, her dopey son, Tom, who is staying in their house in the UK, holds a raucous party, during which the front door gets broken, opening the way for a bunch of squatters to move in.

With her plans thwarted as Phil returns to the UK to handle the squatters, Amanda is abandoned in France with only a cellar full of Chateau Plonk, a large, orange Space Hopper, and Old Ted, a dog, for company. To make matters worse, the jaw-dropping, Skype calls from her irrepressible mother are only making her trip even less palatable by comparison. She turns to the internet and to writing to amuse herself.

Review

When Carol approached me and told me she had written a sequel I was delighted, but I had high expectations. I imagine writing a sequel to a book that was successful and received high praise must be a daunting task and something a lot of Authors don’t do but I was so thrilled that Surfing in Stilettos was just as engaging and enjoyable to read.

We rejoin Amanda embarking on a years tour in their campavan Bertie with her “beloved” husband Phil. Lots of the old characters are still in the story, Tom the Son, her blogger friends, Todd and her wonderful Mother! obviously nothing goes to plan and it’s not the bliss gap year expected (or maybe being a realist Amanda knew all along!!) a long as some fabulous new French characters and a gorgeous Dog Ted

Carol has brilliantly written the second book that is just as funny and still a real page turner but this time there was a little more to the story. More emotion, more stories from the other’s perspective and closure I would say in many cases. I felt this novel went deeper than one Woman’s blog and “moaning” husband. This really was about people finding themselves and understanding what is important in life and to do it whether it hurt to do or not!

Both available in book ebook and paperback

SURFING IN STILETTOS – published by Thornberry

11 Comments

Filed under Book of the Month!

11 responses to “Book of the Month – October – CAROL WYER

  1. Both sound like excellent reads and I can’t wait to get stuck into them! Great reviews, Lou!!

  2. I absolutely agree with you Lou and loved Mini Skirts too! Can’t wait to reading Surfing in Stilettos. Carol is a very comedic writer and I passed a wonderful day with Amanda and Phil. Reminded me of ‘One Foot In The Grave’ and Victor Meldrew!

  3. I’m really excited about reading these books – just from your reviews! Congratulations Carol!

  4. I like your choice. Shows good taste.

  5. Oh Lou -I am still wiping tears away. I was so touched that you chose my books as books of the month and then I read this lovely post and started blubbing again. (Must be my age!) Thank you so much for featuring them both and thank you to all the people who have left such kind comments above. I hope I can make everyone who reads them laugh too. Thank you so much. xxx

  6. I love Carol! I love her wrting – and I love your reviews, Lou! Um, I’ve pinched the end of the last review to quote when mentioning Carol’s books as a perfect example of successful rom com next week! Hope that’s OK!! Good luck,Carol! 🙂 xx

  7. Fabulous reviews, Lou, that leave me eagerly anticipating reading both of these books!

  8. Brilliant review of a brilliant book. Well done Lou, and good luck with it all Carol. Well deserved.

  9. Great reviews, Lou, and congrats to Carol!! X

Please leave a Reply

