The Help – KATHRYN STOCKETT

The Help by Kathryn Stockett .

Three ordinary women are about to take one extraordinary step.

Twenty-two-year-old Skeeter has just returned home after graduating from Ole Miss. She may have a degree, but it is 1962, Mississippi, and her mother will not be happy till Skeeter has a ring on her finger. Skeeter would normally find solace with her beloved maid Constantine, the woman who raised her, but Constantine has disappeared and no one will tell Skeeter where she has gone.

Aibileen is a black maid, a wise, regal woman raising her seventeenth white child. Something has shifted inside her after the loss of her own son, who died while his bosses looked the other way. She is devoted to the little girl she looks after, though she knows both their hearts may be broken.

Minny, Aibileen’s best friend, is short, fat, and perhaps the sassiest woman in Mississippi. She can cook like nobody’s business, but she can’t mind her tongue, so she’s lost yet another job. Minny finally finds a position working for someone too new to town to know her reputation. But her new boss has secrets of her own.

Seemingly as different from one another as can be, these women will nonetheless come together for a clandestine project that will put them all at risk. And why? Because they are suffocating within the lines that define their town and their times. And sometimes lines are made to be crossed.

In pitch-perfect voices, Kathryn Stockett creates three extraordinary women whose determination to start a movement of their own forever changes a town, and the way women – mothers, daughters, caregivers, friends – view one another. A deeply moving novel filled with poignancy, humor, and hope, The Help is a timeless and universal story about the lines we abide by, and the ones we don’t.

I know many people will have read this by now and I am rather late in the game, but I wanted to read the book before I watched the film as very few times are the films a patch on the book? I wondered if yet again I’d read a book that was so full of hype that I would be disappointed as I have been with previous “must read” books but I can honestly say I wasn’t. The book is brilliant, emotional, laugh out loud funny, thought-provoking and very heartbreaking. I couldn’t put it down. Living in the 21st century we take for granted that everyone is equal (or certainly should be) and prejudice is a thing of the past. What grabbed me so much was the stupidity of the “white” ladies, how could they not appreciate the very important roles that these ladies gave to their households and to their children!

I have no idea if these stories are true stories that have been collated for this book as I never like to read other reviews or research books I haven’t read as I am so easily influenced, I like my reviews to be of my own opinion! Fabulously written and will grip you straight away. I imagine so much more has been said with more eloquence and substance! For those that read my reviews …. all I can add is that this is a must and I can’t recommend it enough (read the book before you watch the film!)

Truly a fabulous read.

Why not get your own copy via Amazon The Help

5 Comments

Filed under Book review

5 responses to “The Help – KATHRYN STOCKETT

  1. Oh Lou, I am so glad you reviewed this book. It is a fantastic read, one of my favourites. The emotion and nailbiting terror at discovery, and the sheer astonishment at the clash of worlds presented here are just amazing. Thanks as always for a great review. You realise that you’ll have to come back now and report on the film, once you’ve seen it? A whole new dimension to your blog… XX Hope you enjoy.

  2. You are so right, Lou. This is a great read and your reaction is spot on. The situations described are very true to life, sadly. Hard to imagine, isn’t it? Did you know that Stockett’s manuscript for The Help was rejected 60 times over a five-year period? I have a terrific article written by Kathryn Stockett which I published on my blog and I know you will enjoy reading – it’s quite hilarious and gives all of us writers some perspective. You’ll find it here.
    http://patriciasands.wordpress.com/2011/08/16/rejections-are-part-of-the-journey/

  3. Fab review Lou. Hope you enjoy the movie as much as you did the book! x

  4. I too prefer to read the book first, as I feel it spoils it if you know the end and makes it confusing if the film differs from the original. I will definitely add this to be TBR list Lou. Thanks for sharing. Lx

Please leave a Reply

