Orange Petals in a Storm – NIAMH CLUNE

Orange Petals in a Storm is the first in the series following the life of Skyla McFee written by Niamh Clune.

We meet 11-year-old Skyla McFee who through tragic circumstances is living with her stepfather and his family. Unloved and ignored Sklya runs away but no further than her old home she once shared with her beloved Mother and Father. Such happy times now seem such a distant memory.

Fighting with the elements and sorrow for what she has lost she find herself transported into an inner world where life becomes clearer with the help of Mick the Cat and the Threads of Prophecy she sets upon helping the least likely of people.

Can Skyla change the circle of life for a family? Can she survive long enough to find happiness in her own world?

This is a very short novel and I read it cover to cover in just a few hours. I didn’t know what to expect from this book. As anyone who regularly reads my book reviews will know, despite trying, I have difficulties big time with anything that is not physical on this earth or not real (in the human form), yet again, I have found a book that has puzzled me!

I adored the story of Skyla, the struggles she endured and felt that Niamh had written a beautifully poignant tale of this little girl’s early life. I loved all the descriptive text around her feeling, her surroundings and relationships with the people around her. My heart went out to her and wanted so much for things to turn out right for her. Elements of the story made me think of a very modern Cinderella due to the life Skyla had.

Forgive me for being honest, I struggled with the parts of the story that transported Skyla into the inner world and spiritual lands. This has nothing to do with the brilliantly written story by Niamh but more about the limitations of the boundaries that my brain can stretch.

I am so glad I read this story, Skyla is an adorable little lady and I’m thrilled that this is just part one of a series for her, I certainly would like to see where Niamh takes her in the next edition.

Thank you so much Niamh for sending me a copy of your novel.

You can find out more about Niamh by following her on twitter @NiamhClune or via her website http://niamhclune.co.uk/ . Niamh is also a Featured Author at www.loveahappyending.com of which I am very proud to be one of her Associated Readers.

4 Comments

Filed under Book review

4 responses to “Orange Petals in a Storm – NIAMH CLUNE

  1. What a lovely review of what sounds like a lovely book. You have made me want to read it Lou! xx
    Sue Uden

  2. Great review, Lou. I am thoroughly intrigued by this book and will be reading it soon. Thanks for bringing us such a great feeling for what the book is like. I love it! x

  3. Now I really can’t wait to read it! Thank you Lou for the sharing this lovely review:) x x

  4. Great review and you can tell you really enjoyed the book despite not feeling certain about the spiritual elements. Well done Niamh!

Please leave a Reply

