Dear Dee – SUE UDEN

Dear Dee is the first book by Sue Uden.

The book focuses around a small family. A Mum, Dad and their two thirty something year old daughters and then in turn their families. Like all families they have their own problems whether that is health, wealth etc. Each in their own way care very much for the other members but sometime their own lives take over and they get frustrated over the others problems.

Jackie, one of the daughters has been suffering from a form of mental illness for approx 8 years which in turn affects each member of  the family in different ways. Her relationship with her sister Claire is not what it was as children and her parents spend a lot of time worrying about her, particularly her Mum Nickii. John the Dad and Claire have more in common with the love of writing which is their release. Everything changes suddenly one day and the focus suddenly has to shift.

I loved this story. I adored the relationship of the Father with his family from the very first chapter. As I read the book I couldn’t help but feel whilst this was a story it was so easily likely to be  happening to a family somewhere. There is huge honesty in what Sue writes and she fills the pages with humour even at the most emotional of time. Sue explores a number of tough subjects with compassion and clearly a lot of research.

I’m not ashamed to admit, I had tears rolling down my face from this book. Sometime tears of happiness as well as sadness.

A fantastic book Sue!

 Sue Uden also a featured Author of www.loveahappyending.com which I’m proud to be an Associate Reader for (launch date 29th June ’11).

To purchase via amazon http://tiny.cc/1zu7s

5 Comments

Filed under Book review

5 responses to “Dear Dee – SUE UDEN

  1. Thank you so much for this Louise. Now you’re making me cry and words fail me. But I can still manage to say how much I appreciate all your hard work! x 🙂

  2. I’ve just started reading this but am thoroughly enjoying it. Can’t wait to read more!

  3. Can’t wait to read it! As soon as I’m done with all my traveling and have time to relax this summer, that’s all I plan on doing!

  4. Just finished reading this one. What a lovely story, and I too blubbed all the way through the last part! Really enjoyed this book x

  5. Pingback: Dear Dee by new author Sue Uden is a wonderfully sensitive and inspiring novel | loveahappyending.com

Please leave a Reply

