Fifty Shades Darker – E L JAMES

 Fifty Shades Darker is the 2nd book in the Trilogy written by E L Jame.

Daunted by the singular sexual tastes and dark secrets of the beautiful, tormented young entrepreneur Christian Grey, Anastasia Steele has broken off their relationship to start a new career with a Seattle publishing house.

But desire for Christian still dominates her every waking thought, and when he proposes a new arrangement, Anastasia cannot resist. They rekindle their searing sensual affair, and Anastasia learns more about the harrowing past of her damaged, driven and demanding Fifty Shades.

While Christian wrestles with his inner demons, Anastasia must confront the anger and envy of the women who came before her, and make the most important decision of her life.

So book 2, I know I said on my review of Fifty Shades of Grey that I wasn’t sure I’d read the other two books in the trilogy let alone go and buy them, well that lasted all of about three days. I couldn’t resist this new addiction I appear to have.

In Darker, we rejoin Christian Grey and Anastasia Steele within just a few days from where book 1 ended. (don’t read on if you haven’t read book 1 – whilst I won’t give any spoilers to this book, I don’t want to spoil book 1 for you!) All the troubles they have experienced together just can’t stop them for needing each other. Whether it is her need to try to help him recover from his past or just the raw physical attraction/needs she has , she can’t stay away. This is lust taken to the extreme.

I found in this book there is much more of a story and less sex (unless I am now immune to it!!) It still is a very erotic read in places and will make you blush if you are reading it on the train (that was me!) but you learn a bit more about Christian and why he is like he is. Whilst I can see he is extremely damaged and a Jekyll and Hyde character, we see a venerable side to him that makes Ana’s decision and actions a little bit more understandable.

There is repetition in the book and I am starting to dislike the saying “my inner goddess” more than I should but for a book that everyone is talking about (and you know my views on  ‘IT’ books), I can understand it and I’m not ashamed to say, I am already on book 3!  

They may not be the greatest written books but they have something that makes me want to pick them up at every spare opportunity I have and as a reviewer, I can’t ask for more.

To read my review on Fifty Shades of Grey click http://wp.me/p1C4A5-lJ

If you’d like to purchase these via Amazon click below

Fifty Shades Trilogy

Leave a comment

Filed under Book review

Please leave a Reply

