Book of the Month – The Silent Touch of Shadows – CHRISTINA COURTENAY

Why did I pick this book as my Book of the Month?

I think I have now read all of Christina’s books and I knew that I couldn’t have this feature on my blog without featuring her latest book. I love her style of writing, the historical connections and descriptive details of location. I’m a huge fan of her work!

Synopsis

Professional genealogist Melissa Grantham receives an invitation to visit her family’s ancestral home, Ashleigh Manor. From the moment she arrives, life-like dreams and visions haunt her. The spiritual connection to a medieval young woman and her forbidden lover have her questioning her sanity, but Melissa is determined to solve the mystery.

Jake Precy, owner of a nearby cottage, has disturbing dreams too, but it’s not until he meets Melissa that they begin to make sense. He hires her to research his family’s history, unaware their lives are already entwined. Is the mutual attraction real or the result of ghostly interference?

A haunting love story set partly in the present and partly in fifteenth century Kent.

My Review

Slighty different style to this book to the previous books I have read by Christina but still just as wonderful as the other books by her.

This book is set in two periods of time with over 600 years between them. What is wonderful is how Christina expertly weaves together the two stories together so smoothly that there is no confusion at all of where you are. The chilling references of the “ghosts” in the present day keeps you alert and on edge of what they may do next! Christina writes historical pieces extremely well and it is very evident that she has researched that particular period in time in great depth.

This is a love story, not just one but two and how the actions taking in the past and present can have such a profound effect on both stories. Very cleverly done!

Christina always writes very strong leading men in her books as well as leading ladies. You just know that they are strong, gorgeous and somewhat more mysterious than you first thought. This is just one of the many things that gets me excited about reading her books and keen to keep turning the pages until you reach the final one.

I am never disappointed by A ChocLit novel and in particular Christina Courtenay!

I asked Pia (Christina) the following:-

1) The Silent Touch of Shadows is slightly different to your usual style of books, what inspired you to write it?
I’ve always loved reading time slip novels myself and could never find enough of them in the shops, so I decided to write my own. It was also inspired by a haunted house I used to stay in – basically my imagination ran riot every time I went there (not always a good thing, since I was terrified of actually meeting the ghost, which thankfully I didn’t!). The plot took shape in my mind and since I have a heroine in the present trying to figure out something that happened 600 years ago, it made sense to tell both strands of the story while it’s being uncovered. I had great fun weaving them together!

2) I was completely fascinated by the genealogy elements of the book – is this something you have explored personally?
Yes, I love genealogy and have been researching my own family tree for a very long time. I grew up in Sweden, where I knew all my mother’s relatives, but I didn’t know anything about my father’s English family at all. So when I moved to England in my early twenties, it seemed the ideal opportunity to start researching – and then I was hooked! It’s a fascinating hobby, a bit like doing a never-ending jigsaw puzzle, and I don’t think my “tree” will ever be finished. But that doesn’t matter in the slightest!

3) Trade Winds and Highland Storms were fabulous books (and not just in my opinion!) am I right in thinking you are exploring the option of a third book in the series?

Yes, I’m writing it at the moment! In Highland Storms, we had the story of Brice Kinross, older son of Killian and Jessamijn from Trade Winds, and he has a disagreement with his younger brother Jamie. I thought it only fair that we should find out what happened to Jamie as well, so that’s what the third book in the trilogy is about. And although Jamie seemed to be the black sheep of the family according to his brother, let’s just say that there are two sides to every story!


4) You have lived in the Far East and Sweden in the past and been able to write so detailed in previous books. Is there anywhere you’ve not lived that you’d like to feature as a location for one of your books? (good excuse to travel in the name of research!)

Absolutely, yes! I’d love to go to India and the Maldives for example (for research, honest, although the beaches won’t hurt obviously :)!) and also to Italy – mostly Pompeii and Herculaneum as these Roman towns sound amazing, and perhaps Rome as well.

5) What has been you favourite read of the last 12 months?
The Rose Garden by Susanna Kearsley. I love her books, and that happens to be a time slip as well, so was a perfect read for me!

Thank you so much for featuring my book this month, I’m really thrilled about that!

The Silent Touch of Shadows is out now on Kindle and will be published in paperback on 7th July available from amazon uk below.

The Silent Touch of Shadows

9 Comments

Filed under Book of the Month!

9 responses to “Book of the Month – The Silent Touch of Shadows – CHRISTINA COURTENAY

  1. louisepilling

    Thanks for the post, I’ve just downloaded it. I love it when someone is so enthusiastic about a book it makes me want to buy it immediately.

  2. Love your book of the month feature Lou. Look forward to it x

  3. It’s on my TBR pile so now off to download a copy now! Congrats Christina on another top seller.

  4. Thank you so much Lou, and thanks everyone else for your lovely comments – do hope you enjoy it too!

  5. Rea

    Great interview hun I have this on my TBR pile looking forward to it after your review xx

  6. I’ve just started reading this – I’ve been eager to start since seeing the lovely cover! Wonderful photo of Christina here too.

  7. Sounds brilliant and will be gracing Lady B’s Kindle in the future :)

  8. Great review and interview. It’s on my to read pile – I’m really looking forward to starting it!

Please leave a Reply

