War Horse – MICHAEL MORPURGO

War Horse was written by Michael Morpurgo.

A powerful tale of war, redemption, and a hero’s journey–now available in paperback!

In 1914, Joey, a beautiful bay-red foal with a distinctive cross on his nose, is sold to the army and thrust into the midst of the war on the Western Front. With his officer, he charges toward the enemy, witnessing the horror of the battles in France. But even in the desolation of the trenches, Joey’s courage touches the soldiers around him and he is able to find warmth and hope. But his heart aches for Albert, the farmer’s son he left behind. Will he ever see his true master again?

I was given this book (or rather Jessica  my daughter was given this book!!) by our Friend Storm and I just had to read it. I adored the film when I watched it recently and too often the film never quite matches up to the book so with this in mind I sat down and devoured the 182 pages in a single sitting.

What was apparent to me was War Horse the book was definitely written more with children in mind. It still holds the beautiful dialogue but was a lot less graphic than the film. All written in Joey the Horses perspective it really is a gorgeous story. The film had made a few changes to what Michael Morpurgo originally wrote in the book which made it enjoyable and made me want to know where the story would go.

If I am honest and you all know I try to be, the book was great and extremely suitable for children from I would say age 8 or above (as well as adults) I think I prefered the film. Whilst there was still lots of emotion in the book, the film was far more powerful and left a long-lasting imprint on me. I also think the film probably isn’t age appropriate to the same age audience as the book.

If you can’t quite bring yourself to watch the movie as you think it will make you sob too much (of which it did to me!!) read the book, it is a wonderful read, touching on a wonderful story not only of the Horse and his owner but also of little Emilie which is what I will take far more from in the book than I did the film. Definitely worth a read, especially if you haven’t seen the film.

If you’d like to purchase a copy of this book, click below.

4 Comments

Filed under Book review

4 responses to “War Horse – MICHAEL MORPURGO

  1. Rea

    Unusual for us reviewers to prefer a film to the book, although smack my wrists I didn’t realise it was a lids book!! Great review xx

  2. Dot

    I keep meaning to read this, great review!

  3. Great review Lou, and nice to have met you at LAHE’s Summer Audience in Tetbury.

  4. debutnovelist

    Hi Louise – when I see a film before reading a book, I quite often prefer the film – I suppose I have no previous expectations.
    I have read Warhorse but was slightly disappointed by the ‘simplicity’? of the story – I think I expected something more sophisticated. Maybe I should see the film!
    Good to meet on Saturday!
    Ali B

Please leave a Reply

