Before I Go to Sleep – SJ WATSON

 Before I Go to Sleep is written by SJ Watson and is a Sunday Times and New York Times best seller.

 Memories define us.

So what if you lost yours every time you went to sleep?

Your name, your identity, your past, even the people you love–all forgotten overnight.

And the one person you trust may be telling you only half the story.

Welcome to Christine’s life.

Wow … what a story. Once of the few that I have read cover to cover in a day and late into the night. Whilst I had seen many people praise this book, I hadn’t actually read anyone’s review of it so had no idea what to expect so when i friend at work lent it to me at work and said “you’ve got to read it” I took it. I’m so glad I did. Brilliantly put together, creepy, thought-provoking and totally unexpected. 

I wondered at the start how someone who only remembers things whilst awake and then the memory put back to zero when she woke the next day could be explained but SJ Watson does so in such a clever and believable way… obviously I won’t be giving anything away.

What I will say about this book is that it’s not a light easy to read sunday afternoon type book .. this is the sort of book that will grab you and not let go until the final chapter. It has more twists and turns than a corkscrew ride at Alton Towers but in such a way you just don’t see them coming – guess you are on the ride backwards!!

If like me you try to shy away from the books that have the huge “hype” may I suggest you give this a try – You won’t regret it I promise! One word of warning - my suggestion is not to read it late at night on your own just before you try to go to sleep!!!

Fantastic work and certainly an Author I would look out for again. If you loved Sister by Rosamund Lupton, you’ll love this too.

Why not purchase your own copy via Amazon UK

before I go to Sleep

6 Comments

Filed under Book review

6 responses to “Before I Go to Sleep – SJ WATSON

  1. I have this on my kindle. Can’t wait to read it now! Great review.

  2. Terrified! I have lots of sleep issues anyway… (insomnia, etc)… so maybe this IS the perfect read for me? Fab review, Lou, as always–thanks!

  3. dotscribbles

    Great review! I have picked this up and put it down again so many times, think it might stay in my shopping basket now.

  4. This sounds like a ‘must read’.

  5. Fabulous review Lou, I love your book choices. This one does sound compelling and unusual.

  6. Really enjoyed this book! I thought it was cleverly made as well to not be repetitive as we could expect in this case.

Please leave a Reply

